Green Eggs and Spam

I have no idea how you, my dear fellow bloggers deal with your “comments” that akismet relegates to the spam folder. For years, I never read them, just clicked on the purge button and awaaaaay they went. I don’t have enough traffic to get what some blogs might get, it’s sporadic at best, much like my posting. HOWEVER there’s been a recent phenomenon that’s caught my eye. There’s something about “Republican Jesus News” that has caught the spammers fancy. They respond almost exclusively to those posts. I have no idea why. Perhaps they’re all Republican Jesus fanboi, I don’t know.
It’s running about 70%.

Here’s a sample from someone named Wspaniałystreszczenie zbiorników betonowych.

Greetings! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog
platform are you using for this website?

I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with
hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform.
I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good
platform.

No, I’m very sorry Wspaniałystreszczenie, to disappoint, but I have no idea what a good platform would be. Otherwise I’d be using it. Somewhere other than WordPress.

Any amusing spam stories to share?

This entry was posted in humor, Post weakly and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Green Eggs and Spam

  1. Judy says:

    Mine come to me in email, so I can view them and dump ’em before they ever touch my precious blog. Some are just blatant ads for junk, some are borderline obscene, and some are there because the filter read it wrong and it really does need to be on the blog.

    I don’t know if they’re funny, but for quite a time I was getting stuff from women called things like “Margaret Nikita Kennedy Obama Jones” and they had portraits of themselves and a huge huge string of blog sites they visited. The portraits were easily found in Google images and arent we surprised they had nothing to do with Margaret Nikita or Stephanie Hyatt Woodward Lincoln Redford. But they did make me smile, if only because they were a patch up from the mindless “I like your sit. this is migne.”

    Just make sure your spam filter doesnt start culling out the good ones, too. Sometimes those things get a bit too vigorous.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

