I’m Losing My Johnson!

How many days since Trump has not been a National embarrassment, Monty?:selection_508

I’ll get used to it eventually, I guess.

This JUST in. During the Prayer Breakfast speech, Trumplestilskin vowed to do away with the Johnson Amendment [law] passed in 1954. This is kinda a big deal for a couple reasons. First, it prohibits all section 501(c)(3) organizations from directly or indirectly participating in, or intervening in, any political campaign on behalf of (or in opposition to) any candidate for elective public office. Contributions to political campaign funds or public statements of position (verbal or written) made on behalf of the organization in favor of or in opposition to any candidate for public office clearly violate the prohibition against political campaign activity. Violating this prohibition may result in denial or revocation of tax-exempt status and the imposition of certain excise taxes. It is a bulwark against the constant erosion of the separation of Church and State. Not much longer, evidently.
Also, not all 501 (c) organizations are religious. The only requirement is that they are “charitable”. What will happen is 501 orgs will become the 7th lane on a six lane freeway of dark money already pouring into US politics. AND it will be tax deductible……so there’s that.

Theocracy and authoritarianism. The first two horsemen of the Apocalypse.

This entry was posted in politics. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m Losing My Johnson!

  1. Nan says:

    Not only that, but I read that he requested “prayer” for Arnold due to low ratings for The Apprentice. At a national prayer breakfast and he’s still worried about his pocketbook! Argghhhh!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carmen says:

    It’s getting so I dread looking through my FB feed. Here’s something that happened early this morning: Our clock radio comes on (CBC) at 5:30 a.m. I was lazy this morning and dozed off. When I came to, I thought, “I must have dreamed a story about DT hanging up on Malcolm Turnbull”. (I was in Australia this past summer and MT didn’t have good things to say about him then — that was before DT became Herr Leader)
    Turns out, scrolling through FB, the story might be true! It’s not comforting when your bad dreams become reality. . . 😦

    Liked by 3 people

  3. judyt54 says:

    I have a rule that works for auto accidents, no matter how intriguing it might be to peek: eyes straight ahead, no hunting for body parts or blood stained dolls (I have a neighbor who epitomizes this). This also now applies to trainwrecks such as the one we have in Washington–there ain’t a damn thing we can do, don’t look; eyes forward, and keep moving.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

