Music: Ya Cain’t Rollerskate in a Buffalo Herd

Some posts are for the readers, this one’s for me and if any of you enjoy it I’ll consider it to be a happy accident.

A lot of music you hear is a “cover” of someone else’s song. Generational music often gets lost to time and obscurity, so we’re going to dig some oldies but goodies out and dust’em off.

Before there was Weird Al doing song parodies, there was Roger Miller. He is best known for songs like:

and

or

also

This one might surprise you:

Yup. Roger Miller’s
Another cover:

how about:

Bits of Tid: “Miller’s 11 Grammy Awards held the record as the most won by a single artist until Michael Jackson’s 1982 album Thriller.”

So there.

This entry was posted in humor, music, Post weakly and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Music: Ya Cain’t Rollerskate in a Buffalo Herd

  1. marliesvonn says:

    I recall quite a few of these on radio and some on my dad’s 8-tracks. I still have the 8-track player, but where the 8-tracks went to, I don’t know. I always cried when I heard “Old Toy Trains” song. I don’t know why. I cried at almost anything as a kid. Thanks for the oldies 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carmen says:

    When I first met my husband (in 1975) he had an 8-track in his van. He owned three tapes: one by Freddie Fender, a Greatest Country Hits and Janis Joplin – it had Me ‘n Bobby McGee on it. We gave all our LP’s to our daughter a few years back but we had a Roger Miller album. (I think we might have the same musical tastes)

    *If Ark is reading this, he’s either wrinkling his nose or shaking his head . . . maybe both 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. judyt54 says:

    you might want to check out Kris Kristofferson, he wrote the original Me and Bobby McGee and nine thousand singers have accidentally gotten credit for it…it’s surprising how many songs Kristofferson has actually written, he’s been around an awfully long time. =)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

