A Brief Thinky Piece About A Thinky Piece

You will find “Help Us Endure” here.  The author Tim Miller put a fair amount of effort into trying to convince us of the value of suffering. Or at least that we shouldn’t “blame god” for the horrible things that befall us. It struck me as all very Anjezë Gonxhe Bojaxhiu.

I had a couple questions meander their way to the surface.  Why if suffering has merit would we ask an indifferent god to help us endure? My sainted mother demanded I eat my Brussell Sprouts, and that while I might always abhor them I’d gain something valuable from the experience. Amazingly enough, I did. Eating them without objection saved me from a swift clout behind my ear. That’s a very human experience that’s mirrored in every aspect of monotheistic theology. Eat your veggies. Don’t bitch or I’ll make you suffer for eternity.

The other big question I have is this: How is a completely indifferent god distinguishable from a hidden god or a nonexistent one? And what moral value do I gather from the experiences of suffering?

I have no idea. If you know, please tell me.

This entry was posted in atheism, Christmas/Religion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Brief Thinky Piece About A Thinky Piece

  1. Carmen says:

    “Stop all of it and find meaning despite the lack of sense and reason and organization for so many things, and simply care, simply help”

    That last segment seems the most prophetic, after that long discourse essentially saying nothing. I would have to ask – “What does (a) god have to do with any of that?” Isn’t that what non-believers do all the time? Instead of wasting their time trying to wrestle with those meaningless questions, they just DO.

    Liked by 1 person

    • persedeplume says:

      Yes. Tim Brought up many aspects worthy of comment, but then I’d have to have done a looonng thinky piece I wasn’t really up for. 🙂 I love that we [atheists] do good things without the prospect of reward. It’s quite handy when discussing morality with believers. I think his motivation was to protect god from criticism/responsibility while trying to save the “spiritual ouvre” of religion.

      Like

  2. Steve Ruis says:

    Well, if “we shouldn’t ‘blame god’ for the horrible things that befall us” then we shouldn’t praise god for the good things that fall our way either. Uh, just what is this god good for?

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

