What’s the Difference?

Quick history: I stumbled onto Bruce on The Recovering Know It All.  He made a comment on an unrelated topic to this, and it seemed pretty clueless which always piques my curiosity. So I went over to his blog to see who I was dealing with. I noticed the following~

selection_439

An article on the differences between Catholics and Protestants. Already I can see this is shaping up to be a treatise on how the Catholics are doing it all wrong.  [Silly Catholics] I notice in recent comments KIA has weighed in, so I’m thinking I’ll just give the article a once over and leave an introductory note, just between us ink stained wretches and all. I don’t usually bother with blogs that are “rubber stamped” echo chambers of the dogma behind them, but hey, KIA’s in so there’s at least a semblance of dialog going on. Right?

Right?

The one thing I noticed in both places was that all the attention seemed to be focused on doctrinal differences with absolutely no mention being made of what looked like the elephant in the room. So I said quietly inside the confines of moderation:

“I’m surprised none of your Catholic readers have pointed out that no form of Protestant theology existed prior to the 16th century. The King James Bible wasn’t completely collated until 1611. Protestants literally came *from the Catholic Church and as denominations go, fairly new at that.”

The same could be said for the Catholics, for that matter. If it were not for Judaism, none of their nonsense would exist in the form it is today.

Thank you history for the blessings we receive.

 

This entry was posted in atheism, Christmas/Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What’s the Difference?

  1. judyt54 says:

    If you really want to annoy them, tell them that Catholicisnm sprang from Judaism (Jesus, as most christians conveniently forget, was Jewish), and then Islam and only then, Protestantism. Islam sounds ancient, but it really isn’t. It just looks that way.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. persedeplume says:

    Yup. They hate when ya shine a light on things they’d rather not consider.
    I didn’t go there for the express purpose of wizzin them off, but I do like to point out the odd discrepancy.

    Like

  3. judyt54 says:

    Some discrepancy, lol. You could drive a mack truck through that hole. I have even seen Christians debating that Catholics aren’t even Christian. er.

    My grandmother,. god love her, was a devout Catholic, and she would admit that Jesus was Jewish, but always with that air of “but he converted and became a catholic…”

    If you really want to watch them hum over there, ask them what happened to the name Jesus was supposed to be called, “Emmanuel”. It’s only mentioned once and never again.

    Like

  4. migarium says:

    I think all people who believe to the religions do all wrong. They are trying to give a shape to their lives with books which fill with dogmas and stories and came from 2000 or 1500 years ago.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

